Netlify Personal vs Render Hobby workspace.
plan vs plan · prices as of
Two subscriptions at the same step of their ladders, which is the only honest way to hold a tier beside a tier: neither price buys a runtime of a stated size, and both meter the compute on top. Render Hobby workspace takes 2 of 4 rounds against Netlify Personal. It is also the cheaper of the two, at free against $9/mo.
Hobby workspace
free
$0 a year · no size to divide by
compute metered · sleep not stated · Subscription
Monthly price (lower wins)
$9/mo
free
Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)
no size to divide by
no size to divide by
Memory
no size, the compute is metered
no size, the compute is metered
vCPU
not stated
not stated
Transfer included (more included is better)
not stated
5 GB
Build minutes included (more included is better)
not stated
500 min
Stops when idle (staying on wins)
always on
sleep not stated
Members covered (more members covered is better)
1 seat
members not charged
What the invoice adds
- A gigabyte of transfernot published vs $0.15 per GB
- Transfer includednot stated vs 5 GB
- Build minutes includednot stated vs 500 min
- A year at this price$108 vs $0
Netlify then Render, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero
Go further
Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.
Frequently asked
- Which is cheaper, Netlify Personal or Render Hobby workspace?
- Render Hobby workspace, at free against $9/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $0 against $108, before anything either platform meters on top.
- Which gives you more memory?
- Neither states a size: both are subscriptions with the compute metered on top, so the memory row is blank for each.
- Does either one stop when the app is idle?
- Netlify Personal: always on. Render Hobby workspace: sleep not stated.
- What does the monthly price leave out?
- Netlify Personal: transfer not stated included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk not stated, 1 seat. Render Hobby workspace: transfer 5 GB included and $0.15 per GB beyond it, builds 500 min, disk not stated, members not charged.
Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.