Render Hobby workspace vs Vercel Hobby.

plan vs plan · prices as of

Two subscriptions at the same step of their ladders, which is the only honest way to hold a tier beside a tier: neither price buys a runtime of a stated size, and both meter the compute on top. Vercel Hobby takes 1 of 4 rounds against Render Hobby workspace. Both cost free.

Render

Hobby workspace

free

$0 a year · no size to divide by

compute metered · sleep not stated · Subscription

Render
Vercelwins 1 rounds

Hobby

free

$0 a year · no size to divide by

compute metered · always on · Subscription

Vercel

Monthly price (lower wins)

free

free

Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)

no size to divide by

no size to divide by

Memory

no size, the compute is metered

no size, the compute is metered

vCPU

not stated

not stated

Transfer included (more included is better)

5 GB

100 GB

Build minutes included (more included is better)

500 min

not stated

Stops when idle (staying on wins)

sleep not stated

always on

Members covered (more members covered is better)

members not charged

1 seat

What the invoice adds

  • A gigabyte of transfer$0.15 per GB vs not published
  • Transfer included5 GB vs 100 GB
  • Build minutes included500 min vs not stated
  • A year at this price$0 vs $0

Render then Vercel, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero

Go further

Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Render Hobby workspace or Vercel Hobby?
Neither: both cost free a month, read on 17 Sept 2026.
Which gives you more memory?
Neither states a size: both are subscriptions with the compute metered on top, so the memory row is blank for each.
Does either one stop when the app is idle?
Render Hobby workspace: sleep not stated. Vercel Hobby: always on.
What does the monthly price leave out?
Render Hobby workspace: transfer 5 GB included and $0.15 per GB beyond it, builds 500 min, disk not stated, members not charged. Vercel Hobby: transfer 100 GB included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk not stated, 1 seat.

Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsNetlify Personal vs Render Hobby workspaceNetlify Personal vs Vercel HobbyRailway Hobby vs Render Hobby workspaceRailway Hobby vs Vercel HobbyRender Hobby workspace vs Zeabur DevVercel Hobby vs Zeabur DevMorecompare any two plansplatform against platformevery plan we track