Railway pricing.
prices as of · 2 plans · 0 sized instances
You push a repository or an image and the platform builds it, runs it and keeps it running. There is no operating system to look after and no root, which is the point: the container is replaced rather than repaired. What you size is memory and a share of a processor.
Railway publishes 2 prices, from $5/mo for Hobby, read 17 Sept 2026.
Kind of platform
App platform
it takes your code or an image and runs a container of it for you
Stops when idle
no
every plan we read stays on
Free tier
no
the cheapest step is a paid one
Smallest billing unit
Second
billed per second, on every plan
What the monthly price includes
Railway sells no runtime of a stated size. The price buys a subscription with allowances attached, with the compute metered on top, so it is never ranked against a runtime of a stated size. None of its plans includes a disk in the price. It publishes no region list beside its prices, so nothing here claims one. Tax is extra.
Live web · the schema.org Product published in railway.com/pricing
What the invoice adds
The rates Railway charges for what a plan price does not cover. A rate that is not published is not a rate of zero, and none of these is folded into the monthly figures above.
- Outbound transfer
- $0.05 per GB
- every gigabyte you serve past the allowance
- Build minute
- not published
- one minute of CI past the allowance
- Extra member
- not published
- one more person on the account
- Persistent disk
- $0.02 per GB a month
- a gigabyte you keep between deploys
Compute is metered per second: $0.00000386 per GB of memory and $0.00000772 per vCPU. The storage rate here is object storage, which Railway prices by the month; volumes are priced per GB per second instead. Builds are not charged separately.
Everything Railway charges
Cheapest by the month first. A subscription row is tagged, because its price buys an account rather than a server.
- Hobbysubscription · Hobby
no size, the compute is metered · always on · 1 seat
transfer none · metered per GB · builds not stated · disk not stated
Subscription with $5 of usage included each month; past that the vCPU, memory, disk and egress your services use are billed on top, per second
$5a monthno size to divide by
- Prosubscription · Pro
no size, the compute is metered · always on · members not charged
transfer none · metered per GB · builds not stated · disk not stated
Subscription with $20 of usage included each month; workspace seats are unlimited and not charged per head, and resources are billed per second on top
$20a monthno size to divide by
Frequently asked
- What kind of platform is Railway?
- App platform: it takes your code or an image and runs a container of it for you. You push a repository or an image and the platform builds it, runs it and keeps it running. There is no operating system to look after and no root, which is the point: the container is replaced rather than repaired. What you size is memory and a share of a processor.
- What is the cheapest Railway plan?
- Hobby at $5/mo, which is no size, the compute is metered and always on. Read on 17 Sept 2026.
- Does Railway stop your app when nothing calls it?
- No. Railway states that all 2 of the plans we read stay on, so nothing here waits for a cold start.
- What does Railway charge on top of the plan price?
- outbound transfer, $0.05 per GB; build minute, not published; extra member, not published; persistent disk, $0.02 per GB a month. Compute is metered per second: $0.00000386 per GB of memory and $0.00000772 per vCPU. The storage rate here is object storage, which Railway prices by the month; volumes are priced per GB per second instead. Builds are not charged separately.
- How current are these Railway prices?
- Live web · the schema.org Product published in railway.com/pricing Last refresh: 17 Sept 2026.