Netlify Personal vs Railway Hobby.
plan vs plan · prices as of
Two subscriptions at the same step of their ladders, which is the only honest way to hold a tier beside a tier: neither price buys a runtime of a stated size, and both meter the compute on top. Railway Hobby takes 1 of 4 rounds against Netlify Personal. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $5/mo against $9/mo.
Monthly price (lower wins)
$9/mo
$5/mo
Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)
no size to divide by
no size to divide by
Memory
no size, the compute is metered
no size, the compute is metered
vCPU
not stated
not stated
Transfer included (more included is better)
not stated
none · metered per GB
Build minutes included (more included is better)
not stated
not stated
Stops when idle (staying on wins)
always on
always on
Members covered (more members covered is better)
1 seat
1 seat
What the invoice adds
- A gigabyte of transfernot published vs $0.05 per GB
- Transfer includednot stated vs none
- Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
- A year at this price$108 vs $60
Netlify then Railway, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero
Go further
Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.
Frequently asked
- Which is cheaper, Netlify Personal or Railway Hobby?
- Railway Hobby, at $5/mo against $9/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $60 against $108, before anything either platform meters on top.
- Which gives you more memory?
- Neither states a size: both are subscriptions with the compute metered on top, so the memory row is blank for each.
- Does either one stop when the app is idle?
- Netlify Personal: always on. Railway Hobby: always on.
- What does the monthly price leave out?
- Netlify Personal: transfer not stated included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk not stated, 1 seat. Railway Hobby: transfer none · metered per GB included and $0.05 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk not stated, 1 seat.
Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.