RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud vs RunPod L4 · Secure Cloud.

machine vs machine · prices as of

Two machines from RunPod's own catalogue, the nearest to each other on price. RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud takes 2 of 4 rounds against RunPod L4 · Secure Cloud. Both rent at $0.490/GPU-hr.

RunPodwins 2 rounds

A40 · Secure Cloud

$0.490/GPU-hr

$0.49/hr for the machine · $82 a week

1x A40 · 48 GB each · $0.0102/GB-hr

RunPod
RunPod

L4 · Secure Cloud

$0.490/GPU-hr

$0.49/hr for the machine · $82 a week

1x L4 · 24 GB each · $0.0204/GB-hr

RunPod

Price per GPU-hour (lower wins)

$0.490/GPU-hr

$0.490/GPU-hr

Interruptible rate (lower wins)

not published

not published

Price per GB of VRAM (lower wins)

$0.0102/GB-hr

$0.0204/GB-hr

VRAM per GPU

48 GB

24 GB

GPUs per instance

1x A40

1x L4

vCPU

9

12

RAM

50 GB

50 GB

Included storage

none · volumes extra

none · volumes extra

Regions listed

regions not stated

regions not stated

What a run costs on each

  • An hour of the machine$0.49/hr vs $0.49/hr
  • A day$12 vs $12
  • A week$82 vs $82
  • A week on spotnot published vs not published

RunPod then RunPod, at the published rate with no commitment discount

Go further

Add a third or fourth machine, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud or RunPod L4 · Secure Cloud?
Neither: both rent at $0.490/GPU-hr, read on 17 Sept 2026.
Which holds more GPU memory?
RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud, at 48 GB across the instance against 24 GB. Per board it is 48 GB against 24 GB.
What would a week cost?
$82 for RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud and $82 for RunPod L4 · Secure Cloud, at 168 hours of the whole machine at its published rate, with no commitment discount. Neither publishes an interruptible rate.
What does the hourly price leave out?
RunPod A40 · Secure Cloud: disk none, billed separately, no regions published, billed per second. RunPod L4 · Secure Cloud: disk none, billed separately, no regions published, billed per second. Egress and tax are extra on both.

Every rate is the on-demand price for one GPU for one hour, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, so a node of eight is compared at what one of its GPUs costs. Storage, egress and tax are extra unless a row says otherwise, and reserved or committed rates are not indexed. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsBaseten L4 24 GiB vs RunPod L4 · Secure CloudModal Nvidia L4 vs RunPod L4 · Secure CloudRunPod A40 · Secure Cloud vs RunPod RTX 3090 · Secure CloudMorecompare any two machinesevery rental we track