Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB vs Heroku Eco.

plan vs plan · prices as of

The same 512 MB of memory at two platforms, so the size is identical and everything around it is not. Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB takes 2 of 4 rounds against Heroku Eco. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $3.89/mo against $5/mo.

Fly.iowins 2 rounds

shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB

$3.89/mo

$46.68 a year · $7.78/GB-mo

512 MB RAM · always on

Fly.io
Heroku

Eco

$5/mo

$60 a year · $10.00/GB-mo

512 MB RAM · sleeps when idle

Heroku

Monthly price (lower wins)

$3.89/mo

$5/mo

Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)

$7.78/GB-mo

$10.00/GB-mo

Memory

512 MB

512 MB

vCPU

2 shared

not stated

Transfer included (more included is better)

none · metered per GB

not stated

Build minutes included (more included is better)

not stated

not stated

Stops when idle (staying on wins)

always on

sleeps when idle

Members covered (more members covered is better)

members not charged

members not charged

What the invoice adds

  • A gigabyte of transfer$0.02 per GB vs not published
  • Transfer includednone vs not stated
  • Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
  • A year at this price$46.68 vs $60

Fly.io then Heroku, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero

Go further

Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB or Heroku Eco?
Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB, at $3.89/mo against $5/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $46.68 against $60, before anything either platform meters on top.
Which gives you more memory?
Both state 512 MB, so the question is what a gigabyte costs: $7.78/GB-mo at Fly.io and $10.00/GB-mo at Heroku.
Does either one stop when the app is idle?
Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB: always on. Heroku Eco: sleeps when idle.
What does the monthly price leave out?
Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB: transfer none · metered per GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged. Heroku Eco: transfer not stated included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged.

Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsDigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-1vcpu-0.5gb · 1 shared vCPU · 512 MB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MBFly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB vs Heroku EcoFly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB vs Koyeb eMicro · 0.25 vCPU · 512 MBFly.io shared-cpu-2x · 512 MB vs Render Free web serviceHeroku Eco vs Koyeb eMicro · 0.25 vCPU · 512 MBHeroku Eco vs Render Free web serviceMorecompare any two plansplatform against platformevery plan we track