Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB vs Heroku Eco.
plan vs plan · prices as of
The same 512 MB of memory at two platforms, so the size is identical and everything around it is not. Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB takes 2 of 4 rounds against Heroku Eco. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $3.19/mo against $5/mo.
Monthly price (lower wins)
$3.19/mo
$5/mo
Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)
$6.38/GB-mo
$10.00/GB-mo
Memory
512 MB
512 MB
vCPU
1 shared
not stated
Transfer included (more included is better)
none · metered per GB
not stated
Build minutes included (more included is better)
not stated
not stated
Stops when idle (staying on wins)
always on
sleeps when idle
Members covered (more members covered is better)
members not charged
members not charged
What the invoice adds
- A gigabyte of transfer$0.02 per GB vs not published
- Transfer includednone vs not stated
- Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
- A year at this price$38.28 vs $60
Fly.io then Heroku, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero
Go further
Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.
Frequently asked
- Which is cheaper, Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB or Heroku Eco?
- Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB, at $3.19/mo against $5/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $38.28 against $60, before anything either platform meters on top.
- Which gives you more memory?
- Both state 512 MB, so the question is what a gigabyte costs: $6.38/GB-mo at Fly.io and $10.00/GB-mo at Heroku.
- Does either one stop when the app is idle?
- Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB: always on. Heroku Eco: sleeps when idle.
- What does the monthly price leave out?
- Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 512 MB: transfer none · metered per GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged. Heroku Eco: transfer not stated included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged.
Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.