Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB vs Heroku Standard-2X.

plan vs plan · prices as of

The same 1 GB of memory at two platforms, so the size is identical and everything around it is not. Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB takes 2 of 4 rounds against Heroku Standard-2X. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $5.70/mo against $50/mo.

Fly.iowins 2 rounds

shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB

$5.70/mo

$68.40 a year · $5.70/GB-mo

1 GB RAM · always on

Fly.io
Heroku

Standard-2X

$50/mo

$600 a year · $50.00/GB-mo

1 GB RAM · always on

Heroku

Monthly price (lower wins)

$5.70/mo

$50/mo

Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)

$5.70/GB-mo

$50.00/GB-mo

Memory

1 GB

1 GB

vCPU

1 shared

not stated

Transfer included (more included is better)

none · metered per GB

not stated

Build minutes included (more included is better)

not stated

not stated

Stops when idle (staying on wins)

always on

always on

Members covered (more members covered is better)

members not charged

members not charged

What the invoice adds

  • A gigabyte of transfer$0.02 per GB vs not published
  • Transfer includednone vs not stated
  • Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
  • A year at this price$68.40 vs $600

Fly.io then Heroku, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero

Go further

Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB or Heroku Standard-2X?
Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB, at $5.70/mo against $50/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $68.40 against $600, before anything either platform meters on top.
Which gives you more memory?
Both state 1 GB, so the question is what a gigabyte costs: $5.70/GB-mo at Fly.io and $50.00/GB-mo at Heroku.
Does either one stop when the app is idle?
Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB: always on. Heroku Standard-2X: always on.
What does the monthly price leave out?
Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB: transfer none · metered per GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged. Heroku Standard-2X: transfer not stated included and not published beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged.

Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsDigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-1gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 1 GB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GBDigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-1vcpu-1gb-fixed · 1 shared vCPU · 1 GB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GBDigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-1vcpu-1gb · 1 shared vCPU · 1 GB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GBFly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-2x · 1 GBFly.io shared-cpu-1x · 1 GB vs Koyeb eSmall · 0.5 vCPU · 1 GBHeroku Standard-2X vs Koyeb eSmall · 0.5 vCPU · 1 GBMorecompare any two plansplatform against platformevery plan we track