Command A vs Command R+.

model vs model · prices as of

Command A takes 1 of 5 rounds against Command R+. Both cost $17.50 per million tokens to run.

Coherewins 1 rounds

Command A

$17.50/M tokens

Cohere list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $2.10 per 1,000 pages

256k context · tool calling · open weights

Cohere

Command R+

$17.50/M tokens

Cohere list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $2.10 per 1,000 pages

128k context · tool calling · open weights

List price in (lower wins)

$2.50/M

$2.50/M

List price out (lower wins)

$10/M

$10/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

none below list

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$17.50/M

$17.50/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$2.10

$2.10

Context

256k tokens

128k tokens

Open weights

yes

yes

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

not stated

not stated

Reads images

no

no

Reasoning

no

no

Released

13 Mar 2025

30 Aug 2024

Providers selling it

3

7

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

no provider to check

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 3

  • Cohere$17.50 / $17.50
  • Eden AI$17.50 / $17.50
  • Merge Gateway$17.50 / $17.50

Command A then Command R+, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. Command R+Nous Portal$2 / $8 $2.50 / $1025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Command A or Command R+?
Neither: both run at $17.50 per million tokens, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
Command A: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $17.50 is the number to beat. Command R+: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $17.50 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 3 providers sell both: Cohere, Eden AI, Merge Gateway. The cheapest of them for the two together is Cohere.
Which holds more context?
Command A, at 256k tokens against 128k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsCommand A vs GPT AudioCommand A vs Qwen2.5-VL 72B InstructCommand R+ vs GPT AudioCommand R+ vs Qwen2.5-VL 72B InstructMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track