DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB vs Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB.

plan vs plan · prices as of

The same 16 GB of memory at two platforms, so the size is identical and everything around it is not. DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB takes 3 of 4 rounds against Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $196/mo against $225/mo.

DigitalOcean App Platformwins 3 rounds

apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB

$196/mo

$2,352 a year · $12.30/GB-mo

16 GB RAM · always on

Render

4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB

$225/mo

$2,700 a year · $14.10/GB-mo

16 GB RAM · always on

Render

Monthly price (lower wins)

$196/mo

$225/mo

Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)

$12.30/GB-mo

$14.10/GB-mo

Memory

16 GB

16 GB

vCPU

4

4

Transfer included (more included is better)

800 GB

not stated

Build minutes included (more included is better)

not stated

not stated

Stops when idle (staying on wins)

always on

always on

Members covered (more members covered is better)

members not charged

members not charged

What the invoice adds

  • A gigabyte of transfer$0.02 per GB vs $0.15 per GB
  • Transfer included800 GB vs not stated
  • Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
  • A year at this price$2,352 vs $2,700

DigitalOcean App Platform then Render, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero

Go further

Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB or Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB?
DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB, at $196/mo against $225/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $2,352 against $2,700, before anything either platform meters on top.
Which gives you more memory?
Both state 16 GB, so the question is what a gigabyte costs: $12.30/GB-mo at DigitalOcean App Platform and $14.10/GB-mo at Render.
Does either one stop when the app is idle?
DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB: always on. Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB: always on.
What does the monthly price leave out?
DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB: transfer 800 GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged. Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GB: transfer not stated included and $0.15 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged.

Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsDigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB vs Fly.io performance-2x · 16 GBDigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB vs Fly.io performance-4x · 16 GBDigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB vs Fly.io shared-cpu-8x · 16 GBDigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-4vcpu-16gb · 4 dedicated vCPU · 16 GB vs Render 2c-16g · 2 vCPU · 16 GBFly.io performance-2x · 16 GB vs Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GBFly.io performance-4x · 16 GB vs Render 4c-16g · 4 vCPU · 16 GBMorecompare any two plansplatform against platformevery plan we track