DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB vs DigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB.
plan vs plan · prices as of
Two plans from DigitalOcean App Platform's own catalogue, the nearest to each other on price. DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB takes 3 of 4 rounds against DigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB. It is also the cheaper of the two, at $49/mo against $50/mo.
apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB
$49/mo
$588 a year · $12.30/GB-mo
4 GB RAM · always on
apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB
$50/mo
$600 a year · $12.50/GB-mo
4 GB RAM · always on
Monthly price (lower wins)
$49/mo
$50/mo
Price per GB of RAM (lower wins)
$12.30/GB-mo
$12.50/GB-mo
Memory
4 GB
4 GB
vCPU
1
2 shared
Transfer included (more included is better)
400 GB
250 GB
Build minutes included (more included is better)
not stated
not stated
Stops when idle (staying on wins)
always on
always on
Members covered (more members covered is better)
members not charged
members not charged
What the invoice adds
- A gigabyte of transfer$0.02 per GB vs $0.02 per GB
- Transfer included400 GB vs 250 GB
- Build minutes includednot stated vs not stated
- A year at this price$588 vs $600
DigitalOcean App Platform then DigitalOcean App Platform, at the published rates; a rate nobody publishes is not a rate of zero
Go further
Add a third or fourth plan, or switch the weighting, in the tool.
Frequently asked
- Which is cheaper, DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB or DigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB?
- DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB, at $49/mo against $50/mo, both excluding tax and read on 17 Sept 2026. Over a year that is $588 against $600, before anything either platform meters on top.
- Which gives you more memory?
- Both state 4 GB, so the question is what a gigabyte costs: $12.30/GB-mo at DigitalOcean App Platform and $12.50/GB-mo at DigitalOcean App Platform.
- Does either one stop when the app is idle?
- DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB: always on. DigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB: always on.
- What does the monthly price leave out?
- DigitalOcean App Platform apps-d-1vcpu-4gb · 1 dedicated vCPU · 4 GB: transfer 400 GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged. DigitalOcean App Platform apps-s-2vcpu-4gb · 2 shared vCPU · 4 GB: transfer 250 GB included and $0.02 per GB beyond it, builds not stated, disk none · volumes extra, members not charged.
Every price is one month in the provider's own currency converted to dollars, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, excluding tax. Transfer, build minutes, disks and members are metered on top wherever a platform says so, and none of those rates is folded into the figures above. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.