OpenAI model pricing.

prices as of · 50 models · 51 prices

Trains the GPT models and sells them on its own API; batch and flex tiers are priced separately and are not compared here.

OpenAI is a maker selling 50 models, from $0.06 per million tokens for text-embedding-3-small, read on 16 Sept 2026.

OpenAI prices

Kind of provider

Maker

based in US

Where it runs

not stated

no regions published

How you pay

not stated

no payment terms published

Free tier

none published

nothing given away

Where OpenAI's prices land, and why

OpenAI publishes 51 prices we can compare, and 1 of them are below the list price for that model. None of them has a published reason we can point at. Nobody here has read its retention terms in detail yet, so treat what it says about itself as its own claim.

OpenAI says it does not train on what you send it. It keeps requests for a limited window. API data is not used for training by default.

not yet checked: retention terms in detail · privacy policy ↗ · status page ↗

Models to start with

all 51 prices ↓

Everything OpenAI sells, against the list price

Cheapest first inside each group. The share is this row against the price the lab that trained the model charges.

The maker's list price

50 prices

What the lab that trained the model charges on its own API.

  • text-embedding-3-small

    OpenAI · 8k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.02 / $0in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • text-embedding-ada-002

    OpenAI · 8k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.10 / $0in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • text-embedding-3-large

    OpenAI · 8k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.13 / $0in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5 Nano

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.05 / $0.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-4.1 nano

    OpenAI · 1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.10 / $0.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.6 Luna Pro

    OpenAI · 1.1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.10 / $0.60in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-4o mini

    OpenAI · 128k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.15 / $0.60in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.6 Luna

    OpenAI · 1.1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.20 / $1.20in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.4 nano

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.20 / $1.25in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5 Mini

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.25 / $2in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-4.1 mini

    OpenAI · 1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.40 / $1.60in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-3.5-turbo

    OpenAI · 16k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.50 / $1.50in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT Audio Mini

    OpenAI · 128k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.60 / $2.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.4 mini

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $0.75 / $4.50in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • o3-mini

    OpenAI · 200k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.10 / $4.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • o3 Mini High

    OpenAI · 200k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.10 / $4.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • o4-mini

    OpenAI · 200k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.10 / $4.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • o4 Mini High

    OpenAI · 200k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.10 / $4.40in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.6 Sol Pro

    OpenAI · 1.1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1 / $5in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.6 Terra Pro

    OpenAI · 1.1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1 / $6in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5 Image Mini

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $2.50 / $2in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-3.5 Turbo 16k

    OpenAI · 16k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $3 / $4in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.25 / $10in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.1

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.25 / $10in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-4.1

    OpenAI · 1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $2 / $8in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • o3

    OpenAI · 200k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $2 / $8in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT Audio

    OpenAI · 128k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $2.50 / $10in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.6 Terra

    OpenAI · 1.1M context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $2 / $12in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.2

    OpenAI · 400k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.75 / $14in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

  • GPT-5.3 Chat (latest)

    OpenAI · 128k context

    The price OpenAI charges for the model it trained. Every row below is measured against it.

    $1.75 / $14in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

showing the 30 cheapest of 50 · every row in the open dataset

Same price as the maker

1 price

The same price the maker charges, sold by someone else.

  • GPT-4 Turbo

    OpenAI · 128k context

    OpenAI's own endpoint sold through OpenRouter.

    $30 / $60in / out per M

    1.00×of list price

Frequently asked

What is OpenAI?
Trains the GPT models and sells them on its own API; batch and flex tiers are priced separately and are not compared here. It sells 50 of the models we track, and trades as OpenAI, L.L.C., based in US.
Is OpenAI cheaper than buying from the maker?
1 of its 51 prices sit below the list price for the model. None of them has a published reason we can point at, so none of them leads a ranking.
Does OpenAI train on what you send it?
OpenAI says it does not train on what you send it. It keeps requests for a limited window. API data is not used for training by default.
How current are these OpenAI prices?
They come from the public catalogs we read, last read 16 Sept 2026. Prices exclude tax.