GPT-4 Turbo vs GPT-5 Pro.

model vs model · prices as of

GPT-4 Turbo takes 3 of 5 rounds against GPT-5 Pro. It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $54.55 per million tokens against $150.

OpenAIwins 3 rounds

GPT-4 Turbo

$54.55/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Poe · $7.09 per 1,000 pages

128k context · tool calling · reads images

Poe
OpenAI

GPT-5 Pro

$150/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Poe · $14.73 per 1,000 pages

400k context · tool calling · reads images

Poe

List price in (lower wins)

$30/M

$15/M

List price out (lower wins)

$60/M

$120/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$54.55/M at Poe

$150/M at Poe

Standard price (lower wins)

$150/M

$165/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$7.09

$14.73

Context

128k tokens

400k tokens

Open weights

no

no

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

no

yes

Reads images

yes

yes

Reasoning

no

yes

Released

6 Nov 2023

6 Oct 2025

Providers selling it

18

18

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

not stated

Providers selling both · 10

  • Poe$54.55 / $150
  • Nous Portal$60 / $165
  • OpenAI$60 / $165
  • Azure AI Foundry$150 / $165
  • Eden AI$150 / $165
  • Kilo Gateway$150 / $165
  • LLM Gateway$150 / $165
  • OpenRouter$150 / $165

GPT-4 Turbo then GPT-5 Pro, per million tokens · showing the 8 cheapest of 10

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. GPT-4 TurboOpenAIOpenAI's list price, in and out per million tokens$10 / $30 $30 / $60150% dearer ·
  2. GPT-4 TurboNous Portal$24 / $48 $30 / $6025% dearer ·
  3. GPT-4 TurboNous Portal$8 / $24 $10 / $3025% dearer ·
  4. GPT-5 ProNous Portal$12 / $96 $15 / $12025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, GPT-4 Turbo or GPT-5 Pro?
GPT-4 Turbo, at $54.55 per million tokens against $150 for GPT-5 Pro, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
GPT-4 Turbo: $54.55 at Poe. GPT-5 Pro: $150 at Poe.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 10 providers sell both: Poe, Nous Portal, OpenAI, Azure AI Foundry, Eden AI, Kilo Gateway, and more. The cheapest of them for the two together is Poe.
Which holds more context?
GPT-5 Pro, at 400k tokens against 128k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsGPT-4 Turbo vs o3-proGPT-5 Pro vs o3-proMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track