GPT-4.1 mini vs Hermes 3 70B Instruct.

model vs model · prices as of

Hermes 3 70B Instruct takes 3 of 5 rounds against GPT-4.1 mini. It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $0.66 per million tokens against $2.55.

OpenAI

GPT-4.1 mini

$2.55/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Poe · $0.305 per 1,000 pages

1M context · tool calling · reads images

Poe
Nous Researchwins 3 rounds

Hermes 3 70B Instruct

$0.66/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Hyperbolic · $0.09 per 1,000 pages

131k context · open weights

List price in (lower wins)

$0.40/M

$0.70/M

List price out (lower wins)

$1.60/M

$0.70/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$2.55/M at Poe

$0.66/M at Hyperbolic

Standard price (lower wins)

$2.80/M

$2.80/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.305

$0.09

Context

1M tokens

131k tokens

Open weights

no

yes

Tool calling

yes

no

Structured output

yes

yes

Reads images

yes

no

Reasoning

no

no

Released

14 Apr 2025

18 Aug 2024

Providers selling it

32

7

Price we measure against

the maker's own

OpenRouter

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

not stated

Providers selling both · 4

  • NanoGPT$2.80 / $1.63
  • Kilo Gateway$2.80 / $2.80
  • OpenRouter$2.80 / $2.80
  • Eden AI$3.08 / $2.80

GPT-4.1 mini then Hermes 3 70B Instruct, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. GPT-4.1 miniNous Portal$0.32 / $1.28 $0.40 / $1.6025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, GPT-4.1 mini or Hermes 3 70B Instruct?
Hermes 3 70B Instruct, at $0.66 per million tokens against $2.55 for GPT-4.1 mini, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
GPT-4.1 mini: $2.55 at Poe. Hermes 3 70B Instruct: $0.66 at Hyperbolic.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 4 providers sell both: NanoGPT, Kilo Gateway, OpenRouter, Eden AI. The cheapest of them for the two together is NanoGPT.
Which holds more context?
GPT-4.1 mini, at 1M tokens against 131k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsGPT-4.1 mini vs GPT-5.1-Codex-MiniGPT-4.1 mini vs Qwen-VL OCRGPT-5.1-Codex-Mini vs Hermes 3 70B InstructMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track