RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud vs RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud.

machine vs machine · prices as of

Two machines from RunPod's own catalogue, the nearest to each other on price. RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud takes 2 of 4 rounds against RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud. RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud counters on price: $1.09/GPU-hr against $1.19/GPU-hr, for 48 GB a board instead of 80 GB.

RunPodwins 2 rounds

A100 PCIe · Community Cloud

$1.19/GPU-hr

$1.19/hr for the machine · $200 a week

1x A100 80GB PCIe · 80 GB each · $0.0149/GB-hr · Marketplace

RunPod
RunPod

L40S · Secure Cloud

$1.09/GPU-hr

$1.09/hr for the machine · $183 a week

1x L40S · 48 GB each · $0.0227/GB-hr

RunPod

Price per GPU-hour (lower wins)

$1.19/GPU-hr

$1.09/GPU-hr

Interruptible rate (lower wins)

not published

not published

Price per GB of VRAM (lower wins)

$0.0149/GB-hr

$0.0227/GB-hr

VRAM per GPU

80 GB

48 GB

GPUs per instance

1x A100 80GB PCIe

1x L40S

vCPU

8

16

RAM

117 GB

94 GB

Included storage

none · volumes extra

none · volumes extra

Regions listed

regions not stated

regions not stated

What a run costs on each

  • An hour of the machine$1.19/hr vs $1.09/hr
  • A day$29 vs $26
  • A week$200 vs $183
  • A week on spotnot published vs not published

RunPod then RunPod, at the published rate with no commitment discount

Go further

Add a third or fourth machine, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud or RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud?
RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud, at $1.09/GPU-hr against $1.19/GPU-hr, both the on-demand rate for one GPU for one hour, read on 17 Sept 2026. On the whole machine that is $1.09/hr against $1.19/hr.
Which holds more GPU memory?
RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud, at 80 GB across the instance against 48 GB. Per board it is 80 GB against 48 GB.
What would a week cost?
$200 for RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud and $183 for RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud, at 168 hours of the whole machine at its published rate, with no commitment discount. Neither publishes an interruptible rate.
What does the hourly price leave out?
RunPod A100 PCIe · Community Cloud: disk none, billed separately, no regions published, billed per second. RunPod L40S · Secure Cloud: disk none, billed separately, no regions published, billed per second. Egress and tax are extra on both.

Every rate is the on-demand price for one GPU for one hour, read 17 Sept 2026 from each provider's own page, so a node of eight is compared at what one of its GPUs costs. Storage, egress and tax are extra unless a row says otherwise, and reserved or committed rates are not indexed. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsCrusoe NVIDIA A100 PCIe vs RunPod A100 PCIe · Community CloudVerda (DataCrunch) 1L40S.20V · 1x L40S 48GB vs RunPod L40S · Secure CloudVerda (DataCrunch) 2L40S.40V · 2x L40S 48GB vs RunPod L40S · Secure CloudVerda (DataCrunch) 4L40S.80V · 4x L40S 48GB vs RunPod L40S · Secure CloudVerda (DataCrunch) 8L40S.160V · 8x L40S 48GB vs RunPod L40S · Secure CloudMorecompare any two machinesevery rental we track