Qwen-VL Max vs Step 5 Preview.

model vs model · prices as of

Qwen-VL Max takes 3 of 5 rounds against Step 5 Preview. It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $1.26 per million tokens against $5.70.

Alibaba Cloudwins 3 rounds

Qwen-VL Max

$1.26/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Alibaba Cloud (China) · $0.172 per 1,000 pages

131k context · tool calling · reads images

StepFun

Step 5 Preview

$5.70/M tokens

StepFun list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $0.762 per 1,000 pages

1M context · tool calling · reads images

List price in (lower wins)

$0.80/M

$1/M

List price out (lower wins)

$3.20/M

$2.70/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$1.26/M at Alibaba Cloud (China)

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$5.60/M

$5.70/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.172

$0.762

Context

131k tokens

1M tokens

Open weights

no

no

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

not stated

yes

Reads images

yes

yes

Reasoning

no

yes

Released

8 Apr 2024

16 Sept 2026

Providers selling it

4

4

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 0

No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts.

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Qwen-VL Max or Step 5 Preview?
Qwen-VL Max, at $1.26 per million tokens against $5.70 for Step 5 Preview, three parts input to one part output, read on 22 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
Qwen-VL Max: $1.26 at Alibaba Cloud (China). Step 5 Preview: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $5.70 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts and two bills.
Which holds more context?
Step 5 Preview, at 1M tokens against 131k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 22 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsNova Pro 1.0 vs Qwen-VL MaxNova Pro 1.0 vs Step 5 PreviewMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track