o3-mini vs o4 Mini High.

model vs model · prices as of

o3-mini takes 1 of 5 rounds against o4 Mini High. It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $7 per million tokens against $7.70.

OpenAIwins 1 rounds

o3-mini

$7/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Poe · $0.84 per 1,000 pages

200k context · tool calling

Poe
OpenAI

o4 Mini High

$7.70/M tokens

OpenAI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $0.924 per 1,000 pages

200k context · tool calling · reads images

List price in (lower wins)

$1.10/M

$1.10/M

List price out (lower wins)

$4.40/M

$4.40/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$7/M at Poe

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$7.70/M

$7.70/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.84

$0.924

Context

200k tokens

200k tokens

Open weights

no

not stated

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

yes

yes

Reads images

no

yes

Reasoning

yes

yes

Released

20 Dec 2024

16 Apr 2025

Providers selling it

22

6

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 6

  • FastRouter$7.70 / $7.70
  • Kilo Gateway$7.70 / $7.70
  • NanoGPT$7.70 / $7.70
  • Nous Portal$7.70 / $7.70
  • OpenAI$7.70 / $7.70
  • OpenRouter$7.70 / $7.70

o3-mini then o4 Mini High, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. o3-miniNous Portal$0.88 / $3.52 $1.10 / $4.4025% dearer ·
  2. o4 Mini HighNous Portal$0.88 / $3.52 $1.10 / $4.4025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, o3-mini or o4 Mini High?
o3-mini, at $7 per million tokens against $7.70 for o4 Mini High, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
o3-mini: $7 at Poe. o4 Mini High: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $7.70 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 6 providers sell both: FastRouter, Kilo Gateway, NanoGPT, Nous Portal, OpenAI, OpenRouter. The cheapest of them for the two together is FastRouter.
Which holds more context?
Both hold 200k tokens in one call.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsGLM-5V-Turbo vs o3-minio3 Mini High vs o4 Mini Higho3-mini vs o3 Mini Higho3-mini vs o4-minio3-mini vs Qwen3-Next 80B-A3B (Thinking)o4-mini vs o4 Mini HighMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track