GPT-5 Image Mini vs Qwen2.5 72B Instruct.

model vs model · prices as of

GPT-5 Image Mini takes 3 of 5 rounds against Qwen2.5 72B Instruct. Qwen2.5 72B Instruct counters on price: $1.09 per million tokens against $9.50, for 131k context instead of 400k.

OpenAIwins 3 rounds

GPT-5 Image Mini

$9.50/M tokens

OpenAI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $1.62 per 1,000 pages

400k context · reads images

Alibaba Cloud

Qwen2.5 72B Instruct

$1.09/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Requesty · $0.162 per 1,000 pages

131k context · tool calling · open weights

Requesty

List price in (lower wins)

$2.50/M

$1.40/M

List price out (lower wins)

$2/M

$5.60/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

none below list

$1.09/M at Requesty

Standard price (lower wins)

$9.50/M

$9.80/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$1.62

$0.162

Context

400k tokens

131k tokens

Open weights

not stated

yes

Tool calling

no

yes

Structured output

yes

not stated

Reads images

yes

no

Reasoning

yes

no

Released

16 Oct 2025

1 Sept 2024

Providers selling it

3

15

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

no provider to check

not stated

Providers selling both · 0

No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts.

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, GPT-5 Image Mini or Qwen2.5 72B Instruct?
Qwen2.5 72B Instruct, at $1.09 per million tokens against $9.50 for GPT-5 Image Mini, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
GPT-5 Image Mini: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $9.50 is the number to beat. Qwen2.5 72B Instruct: $1.09 at Requesty.
Can I buy both from one provider?
No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts and two bills.
Which holds more context?
GPT-5 Image Mini, at 400k tokens against 131k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsGPT-5 Image Mini vs Qwen3 MaxInkling vs Qwen2.5 72B InstructQwen2.5 72B Instruct vs Qwen3 MaxMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track