MiniMax-M2.1 vs Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct.

model vs model · prices as of

MiniMax-M2.1 and Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct split the 5 rounds this table counts: the two list price rows, the cheapest price we can explain, the standard price and context. The weighting you pick decides the rest.

MiniMax

MiniMax-M2.1

$1.91/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at LLM Gateway · $0.228 per 1,000 pages

205k context · tool calling · open weights

Alibaba Cloud

Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct

$1.58/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Alibaba Cloud (China) · $0.215 per 1,000 pages

131k context · tool calling · reads images · open weights

List price in (lower wins)

$0.30/M

$0.35/M

List price out (lower wins)

$1.20/M

$1.05/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$1.91/M at LLM Gateway

$1.58/M at Alibaba Cloud (China)

Standard price (lower wins)

$2.10/M

$2.10/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.228

$0.215

Context

205k tokens

131k tokens

Open weights

yes

yes

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

not stated

not stated

Reads images

no

yes

Reasoning

yes

no

Released

23 Dec 2025

1 Sept 2024

Providers selling it

24

3

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

not stated

Providers selling both · 0

No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts.

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. MiniMax-M2.1Nous Portal$0.24 / $0.96 $0.30 / $1.2025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, MiniMax-M2.1 or Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct?
Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct, at $1.58 per million tokens against $1.91 for MiniMax-M2.1, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
MiniMax-M2.1: $1.91 at LLM Gateway. Qwen2.5-VL 7B Instruct: $1.58 at Alibaba Cloud (China).
Can I buy both from one provider?
No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts and two bills.
Which holds more context?
MiniMax-M2.1, at 205k tokens against 131k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsClaude 3 Haiku vs MiniMax-M2.1MiniMax-M2.1 vs MiniMax-M2.5MiniMax-M2.1 vs MiniMax-M2.7MiniMax-M2.1 vs MiniMax M2-herMiniMax-M2.1 vs MiniMax-M3MiniMax-M2.1 vs Solar Pro 4Morecompare any two modelsevery model we track