Llama 3.1 70B Instruct vs Qwen Plus Character (Japanese).
model vs model · prices as of
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct takes 4 of 5 rounds against Qwen Plus Character (Japanese). It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $1.60 per million tokens against $1.89.
Llama 3.1 70B Instruct
$1.60/M tokens
cheapest we can explain, at Kilo Gateway · $0.264 per 1,000 pages
131k context · tool calling · open weights
Qwen Plus Character (Japanese)
$1.89/M tokens
cheapest we can explain, at Eden AI · $0.25 per 1,000 pages
8k context · tool calling
List price in (lower wins)
$0.72/M
$0.50/M
List price out (lower wins)
$0.72/M
$1.40/M
Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)
$1.60/M at Kilo Gateway
$1.89/M at Eden AI
Standard price (lower wins)
$2.88/M
$2.90/M
Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)
$0.264
$0.25
Context
131k tokens
8k tokens
Open weights
yes
no
Tool calling
yes
yes
Structured output
yes
not stated
Reads images
no
no
Reasoning
no
no
Released
23 Jul 2024
1 Jan 2024
Providers selling it
12
3
Price we measure against
OpenRouter
the maker's own
Trains on your prompts (no is better)
not stated
not stated
Providers selling both · 0
No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts.
Go further
Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.
What moved in the last seven days
- Llama 3.1 70B Instruct
OpenRouterOpenRouter's list price, in and out per million tokens$0.40 / $0.40 $0.72 / $0.7280% dearer · - Llama 3.1 70B Instruct
OpenRouter$0.40 / $0.40 $0.72 / $0.7280% dearer · - Llama 3.1 70B Instruct
Nous Portal$0.32 / $0.32 $0.40 / $0.4025% dearer ·
Frequently asked
- Which is cheaper, Llama 3.1 70B Instruct or Qwen Plus Character (Japanese)?
- Llama 3.1 70B Instruct, at $1.60 per million tokens against $1.89 for Qwen Plus Character (Japanese), three parts input to one part output, read on 21 Sept 2026.
- Where is each one cheapest?
- Llama 3.1 70B Instruct: $1.60 at Kilo Gateway. Qwen Plus Character (Japanese): $1.89 at Eden AI.
- Can I buy both from one provider?
- No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts and two bills.
- Which holds more context?
- Llama 3.1 70B Instruct, at 131k tokens against 8k.
Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 21 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.