GPT-6 Luna Pro vs text-embedding-3-large.

model vs model · prices as of

GPT-6 Luna Pro and text-embedding-3-large split the 5 rounds this table counts: the two list price rows, the cheapest price we can explain, the standard price and context. The weighting you pick decides the rest.

OpenAI

GPT-6 Luna Pro

$0.40/M tokens

OpenAI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $0.045 per 1,000 pages

1.1M context · tool calling · reads images

OpenAI

text-embedding-3-large

$0.39/M tokens

OpenAI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $0.078 per 1,000 pages

8k context

List price in (lower wins)

$0.05/M

$0.13/M

List price out (lower wins)

$0.25/M

$0/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

none below list

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$0.40/M

$0.39/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.045

$0.078

Context

1.1M tokens

8k tokens

Open weights

not stated

no

Tool calling

yes

no

Structured output

yes

not stated

Reads images

yes

no

Reasoning

yes

no

Released

22 Sept 2026

25 Jan 2024

Providers selling it

7

9

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

no provider to check

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 3

  • OpenAI$0.40 / $0.39
  • Azure AI Foundry$0.80 / $0.39
  • Nous Portal$0.80 / $0.39

GPT-6 Luna Pro then text-embedding-3-large, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. text-embedding-3-largeNous Portal$0.10 / $0 $0.13 / $025% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, GPT-6 Luna Pro or text-embedding-3-large?
text-embedding-3-large, at $0.39 per million tokens against $0.40 for GPT-6 Luna Pro, three parts input to one part output, read on 23 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
GPT-6 Luna Pro: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $0.40 is the number to beat. text-embedding-3-large: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $0.39 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 3 providers sell both: OpenAI, Azure AI Foundry, Nous Portal. The cheapest of them for the two together is OpenAI.
Which holds more context?
GPT-6 Luna Pro, at 1.1M tokens against 8k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 23 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsGPT-6 Luna Pro vs Ministral 8B (latest)Morecompare any two modelsevery model we track