Fugu Max vs Pixtral Large (latest).

model vs model · prices as of

Fugu Max takes 1 of 5 rounds against Pixtral Large (latest). Both cost $12 per million tokens to run.

Sakana AIwins 1 rounds

Fugu Max

$12/M tokens

Sakana AI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $1.56 per 1,000 pages

1M context · tool calling · reads images

Mistral AI

Pixtral Large (latest)

$12/M tokens

Mistral AI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $1.56 per 1,000 pages

128k context · tool calling · reads images · open weights

List price in (lower wins)

$2/M

$2/M

List price out (lower wins)

$6/M

$6/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

none below list

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$12/M

$12/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$1.56

$1.56

Context

1M tokens

128k tokens

Open weights

not stated

yes

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

yes

not stated

Reads images

yes

yes

Reasoning

yes

no

Released

11 Sept 2026

1 Nov 2024

Providers selling it

9

3

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

no provider to check

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 0

No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts.

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. Fugu MaxNous Portal$1.60 / $4.80 $2 / $625% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Fugu Max or Pixtral Large (latest)?
Neither: both run at $12 per million tokens, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
Fugu Max: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $12 is the number to beat. Pixtral Large (latest): nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $12 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
No provider we read sells both, so running the two means two accounts and two bills.
Which holds more context?
Fugu Max, at 1M tokens against 128k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsFugu Max vs Grok 4.5Fugu Max vs Grok 4.6Fugu Max vs Mistral Medium (latest)Fugu Max vs Mistral Medium 3Fugu Max vs Mistral Medium 3.5Fugu Max vs Mixtral 8x22B InstructMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track