DeepSeek V3.1 vs Step 3.7 Flash.

model vs model · prices as of

Step 3.7 Flash takes 3 of 5 rounds against DeepSeek V3.1. Both cost $1.40 per million tokens to run.

DeepSeek

DeepSeek V3.1

$1.40/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at TensorX · $0.168 per 1,000 pages

164k context · tool calling · open weights

StepFunwins 3 rounds

Step 3.7 Flash

$1.40/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Nous Portal · $0.151 per 1,000 pages

256k context · tool calling · reads images · open weights

List price in (lower wins)

$0.25/M

$0.18/M

List price out (lower wins)

$0.95/M

$1.11/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$1.40/M at TensorX

$1.40/M at Nous Portal

Standard price (lower wins)

$1.70/M

$1.67/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$0.168

$0.151

Context

164k tokens

256k tokens

Open weights

yes

yes

Tool calling

yes

yes

Structured output

yes

not stated

Reads images

no

yes

Reasoning

yes

yes

Released

21 Aug 2025

29 May 2026

Providers selling it

12

18

Price we measure against

OpenRouter

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

not stated

Providers selling both · 5

  • Nous Portal$1.70 / $1.40
  • DeepInfra$1.70 / $1.75
  • OpenRouter$1.70 / $1.75
  • Kilo Gateway$1.81 / $1.75
  • Novita$1.81 / $1.75

DeepSeek V3.1 then Step 3.7 Flash, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. DeepSeek V3.1Nous Portal$0.20 / $0.76 $0.25 / $0.9525% dearer ·
  2. Step 3.7 FlashNous Portal$0.13 / $0.74 $0.16 / $0.9225% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, DeepSeek V3.1 or Step 3.7 Flash?
Neither: both run at $1.40 per million tokens, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
DeepSeek V3.1: $1.40 at TensorX. Step 3.7 Flash: $1.40 at Nous Portal.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 5 providers sell both: Nous Portal, DeepInfra, OpenRouter, Kilo Gateway, Novita. The cheapest of them for the two together is Nous Portal.
Which holds more context?
Step 3.7 Flash, at 256k tokens against 164k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsDeepSeek V3.1 vs GLM-4.5-AirDeepSeek V3.1 vs MiniMax-01DeepSeek V3.1 vs Qwen3.6 FlashMistral Small 3.1 24B vs Step 3.7 FlashQwen3.6 Flash vs Step 3.7 FlashMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track