Claude Opus 4.6 vs GPT-5.4 Image 2.

model vs model · prices as of

Claude Opus 4.6 takes 3 of 5 rounds against GPT-5.4 Image 2. It is also the cheaper of the two to run, at $34.34 per million tokens against $39.

Anthropicwins 3 rounds

Claude Opus 4.6

$34.34/M tokens

cheapest we can explain, at Poe · $3.86 per 1,000 pages

1M context · tool calling · reads images

Poe
OpenAI

GPT-5.4 Image 2

$39/M tokens

OpenAI list price, nothing below it is accounted for · $5.70 per 1,000 pages

272k context · reads images

List price in (lower wins)

$5/M

$8/M

List price out (lower wins)

$25/M

$15/M

Cheapest we can explain (lower wins)

$34.34/M at Poe

none below list

Standard price (lower wins)

$40/M

$39/M

Cost per 1,000 pages (lower wins)

$3.86

$5.70

Context

1M tokens

272k tokens

Open weights

no

not stated

Tool calling

yes

no

Structured output

yes

yes

Reads images

yes

yes

Reasoning

yes

yes

Released

4 Feb 2026

21 Apr 2026

Providers selling it

42

3

Price we measure against

the maker's own

the maker's own

Trains on your prompts (no is better)

not stated

no provider to check

Providers selling both · 2

  • Kilo Gateway$40 / $39
  • OpenRouter$40 / $39

Claude Opus 4.6 then GPT-5.4 Image 2, per million tokens

Go further

Add a third or fourth model, or switch the weighting, in the tool.

What moved in the last seven days

  1. Claude Opus 4.6Nous Portal$4 / $20 $5 / $2525% dearer ·

Frequently asked

Which is cheaper, Claude Opus 4.6 or GPT-5.4 Image 2?
Claude Opus 4.6, at $34.34 per million tokens against $39 for GPT-5.4 Image 2, three parts input to one part output, read on 16 Sept 2026.
Where is each one cheapest?
Claude Opus 4.6: $34.34 at Poe. GPT-5.4 Image 2: nobody goes below the maker's own price with a reason we can point at, so $39 is the number to beat.
Can I buy both from one provider?
Yes. 2 providers sell both: Kilo Gateway, OpenRouter. The cheapest of them for the two together is Kilo Gateway.
Which holds more context?
Claude Opus 4.6, at 1M tokens against 272k.

Prices exclude tax and are per million tokens, read 16 Sept 2026 from each provider's own catalog. The standard price blends three parts input to one part output; a page is 600 tokens in and 60 out. Bars are scaled to the larger value in each row.

Related head-to-headsClaude Opus 4.5 (latest) vs Claude Opus 4.6Claude Opus 4.5 (latest) vs GPT-5.4 Image 2Claude Opus 4.6 vs Claude Opus 4.7Claude Opus 4.6 vs Claude Opus 4.8Claude Opus 4.6 vs Claude Opus 5Claude Opus 4.6 vs GPT-5 ImageMorecompare any two modelsevery model we track